• The liturgical life of the Catholic Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice of the Mass and the Sacraments. Catholics view sacraments as the channel through which God pours down His grace into our souls. They often take place in ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant, and important for Christians. The Sacraments are special occasions for experiencing God's saving presence.
    The seven sacraments in the Church touch all the stages and important moments of natural life. They are divided into three groups:
    Sacraments of Initiation 
          Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist

    Sacraments of Healing 
          Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick

    Sacraments of Vocation
          Holy Orders, Matrimony

    Click on the blue sacrament names to the right to learn more about how each of these sacraments is celebrated at St.James.